Maximum flexibility and sustainability in application development

Air-conditioning and refrigeration specialist Viessmann replaces Lotus Notes and Google AppMaker applications and uses Simplifier to drive forward the implementation of its digitization strategy

1. Initial situation and challenge

Digital transformation is a central topic at Viessmann. The internationally active family-owned company from Allensdorf (Eder) in Hesse develops and produces integrated air conditioning and energy solutions for people, companies and communities worldwide. With many years of experience with Lotus Notes, Viessmann turned to Google AppMaker as part of its digitization strategy to modernize its outdated applications. The news that Google would no longer be offering the service from January 2021 therefore presented Viessmann with an immense challenge.

For the expert in air conditioning and energy solutions, there was an urgent need for action: The twelve existing AppMaker applications had to be migrated to a new platform within a period of just six months. To make matters worse, internal resources – especially in terms of developer capacity – were also limited at Viessmann. Consequently, efficient use and expansion of existing competencies were necessary. Therefore, in order to optimally manage the migration, non-developers were also to be included in the application creation process.

Since Viessmann was already using a low-code development platform (LCDP) with Google AppMaker and was familiar with the advantages of the technology, the new platform was also to be based on the low-code approach and thus smoothly enable the reusability of existing functions.

Viessmann-Werke

  • Industry: Heating technology (air conditioning, cooling and industrial solutions)
  • Main location: Allensdorf
  • Employees: ca. 12.300

2. Solution and results

With Simplifier, the Hessian climate and energy expert found both the optimal platform and the right partner. Thus, Viessmann achieved a precision landing in the first joint project: The migration of the twelve existing applications was successfully completed one day before Google AppMaker was shut down and the apps subsequently went live. In the process, Viessmann was also able to realize the connection to various Google services as well as the integration of the user directory. In this way, the company ensured the reusability of these components and will be able to use them for all further applications in the future without any problems.

Overall, the low-code platform Simplifier was convincing as a complete package: the technical expertise and optimal support from the team as well as the flexible and future-proof technology. During the tender process, Viessmann placed a special focus on reducing dependencies, based on the experience gained. Simplifier also met this requirement, as the expert for climate and energy solutions retains sovereignty over the source code created (source code ownership). This flexibility was a unique selling point of the low-code platform in the selection process.

„The fact that the generated code remains under Viessmann’s sovereignty gives us a certain security and stability for our digitization strategy.”

Andreas Schreiber, Head of Google Cloud Platform and Development, Viessmann

Top Facts Simplifier

Simplifier convinced by flexibility and source code ownership

The platform is excellently suited for the development of SAP and Google Workplace apps

Flexible integration into the Google ecosystem generates high reusability and sustainability

In addition, the platform is ideally suited for the development of SAP and Google Workplace apps thanks to the high compatibility factor. The fast and easy creation of SAP Fiori apps based on the UI5 framework offers a future-proof perspective. The flexible integration into the Google ecosystem additionally enables a high reusability and thus sustainability of the created applications. By involving employees from the specialist departments, Viessmann is also able to shorten the time-to-market of the applications and thus accelerate the digital transformation.

“Simplifier fits very well into our existing IT strategy. In the future, we will put a strong focus on the development of Fiori applications. We were pleased to find that in Simplifier we have found a platform that allows us to create UI5 applications quickly and easily.”> 
Dr. Harald Dörnbach, Managing Director, Viessmann IT Service

3. Outlook

Planning for the implementation of further applications based on Simplifier is already underway at Viessmann. Particularly with regard to the already completed S/4HANA migration, the low-code platform offers the necessary flexibility to develop straightforward, precisely fitting SAP Fiori applications. In addition, Viessmann can deploy new applications much faster via Simplifier and make changes to function and design without major effort.

„On the basis created, we are in a position to implement further applications that are important to us and to master any challenges that arise in Viessmann’s digitization projects more flexibly and sustainably thanks to Simplifier.” 
Dr. Harald Dörnbach, Managing Director, Viessmann IT Service

Discover more Success Stories

Please select industry:

Questions on this Success Story?
Please write to us.

Want to read the whole Success Story?

Simply enter your email address and receive more information about this customer’s challenges and solutions.

Maximale Flexibilität und Nachhaltigkeit bei der Applikationsentwicklung

Klima- und Kältespezialist Viessmann löst Lotus Notes- und Google AppMaker-Anwendungen ab und treibt mit Simplifier die Umsetzung ihrer Digitalisierungsstrategie voran

1. Ausgangssituation und Herausforderung

Die digitale Transformation ist ein zentrales Thema bei Viessmann. Das international tätige Familienunternehmen aus dem hessischen Allensdorf (Eder) entwickelt und produziert integrierte Klima- und Energielösungen für Menschen, Unternehmen und Kommunen weltweit. Durch die langjährige Erfahrung mit Lotus Notes setzte Viessmann im Rahmen seiner Digitalisierungsstrategie zur Modernisierung der überholten Anwendungen auf Google AppMaker. Die Nachricht, dass Google den Dienst ab Januar 2021 nicht mehr anbietet, stellte Viessmann deshalb vor eine immense Herausforderung.

Für den Experten für Klima- und Energielösungen bestand dringender Handlungsbedarf: Die zwölf bestehenden AppMaker-Anwendungen mussten innerhalb eines Zeitraums von nur sechs Monaten auf eine neue Plattform migriert werden. Erschwerend kam hinzu, dass auch die internen Ressourcen – insbesondere in Bezug auf die Entwickler-Kapazitäten – bei Viessmann begrenzt waren. Folglich waren ein effizienter Einsatz und die Erweiterung der bestehenden Kompetenzen notwendig. Zur optimalen Bewältigung der Migration sollten deshalb zusätzlich auch Nicht-Entwickler in den Applikations-Erstellungsprozess einbezogen werden.

Da Viessmann mit Google AppMaker bereits eine Low-Code-Development-Plattform (LCDP) im Einsatz hatte und mit den Vorzügen der Technologie vertraut war, sollte die neue Plattform ebenfalls auf dem Low-Code-Ansatz basieren und damit die Wiederverwendbarkeit bestehender Funktionen reibungslos ermöglichen.

Viessmann-Werke

  • Branche: Heiztechnik (Klima-, Kühl- und Industrielösungen)
  • Hauptstandort: Allensdorf

  • Mitarbeiter: ca. 12.300

2. Lösung und Ergebnisse

Der hessische Klima- und Energieexperte fand mit Simplifier sowohl die optimale Plattform, als auch den passenden Partner. So schaffte Viessmann eine Punktlandung bei dem ersten gemeinsamen Projekt: Die Migration der zwölf bestehenden Applikationen konnte einen Tag vor Abschaltung von Google AppMaker erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden und die Apps anschließend produktiv gehen. Dabei konnte Viessmann auch die Anbindung an verschiedene Google Services sowie die Integration des Nutzerverzeichnisses realisieren. Auf diese Weise hat das Unternehmen die Wiederverwendbarkeit dieser Komponenten sichergestellt und kann sie künftig problemlos für alle weiteren Applikationen nutzen.

Insgesamt überzeugte die Low-Code Plattform Simplifier als Gesamtpaket: Die fachliche Kompetenz und der optimale Support durch das Team sowie durch die flexible und zukunftssichere Technologie. Bei der Ausschreibung lag für Viessmann ein besonderer Fokus auf der Reduzierung der Abhängigkeiten, basierend auf den gemachten Erfahrungen. Simplifier wurde auch diesem Anspruch gerecht, da der Experte für Klima- und Energielösungen die Hoheit über den erstellten Quellcode (source code ownership) behält. Diese Flexibilität war im Auswahlprozess ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal der Low-Code Plattform.

„Dass der generierte Code in Viessmann-Hoheit bleibt, gibt uns eine gewisse Sicherheit und Stabilität für unsere Digitalisierungsstrategie.“ 

Andreas Schreiber, Head of Google Cloud Platform and Development, Viessmann

Top Facts Simplifier

Simplifier überzeugte durch Flexibilität und Source Code Ownership

Die Plattform eignet sich exzellent für die Entwicklung von SAP- und Google Workplace-Apps

Flexible Integration in das Google Öko-System erzeugt hohe Wiederverwendbarkeit und Nachhaltigkeit

Darüber hinaus eignet sich die Plattform dank des hohen Kompatibilitätsfaktors optimal für die Entwicklung von SAP- und Google Workplace-Apps. Die schnelle und einfache Erstellung von SAP-Fiori-Applikationen basierend auf dem UI5-Framework bietet eine zukunftssichere Perspektive. Die flexible Integration in das Google-Ökosystem ermöglicht zusätzlich eine hohe Wiederverwendbarkeit und damit Nachhaltigkeit der erstellten Anwendungen. Durch die Einbindung der Mitarbeiter aus den Fachbereichen ist es Viessmann zudem möglich, den Time-to-Market der Anwendungen zu verkürzen und somit die digitale Transformation zu beschleunigen.

„Simplifier fügt sich sehr gut in unsere bestehende IT-Strategie ein. Wir setzen künftig einen starken Fokus auf die Entwicklung von Fiori-Applikationen. Wir haben mit Freude festgestellt, dass wir in Simplifier eine Plattform gefunden haben, mit der wir schnell und einfach UI5-Applikationen erstellen können.“ 

Dr. Harald Dörnbach, Geschäftsführer, Viessmann IT Service

3. Ausblick

Die Planung zur Umsetzung weiterer Anwendungen basierend auf Simplifier ist bei Viessmann bereits in Gange. Besonders im Hinblick auf die bereits abgeschlossene S/4HANA-Migration bietet die Low-Code-Plattform die nötige Flexibilität, um unkompliziert passgenaue SAP-Fiori-Anwendungen zu entwickeln. Außerdem kann Viessmann neue Anwendungen über Simplifier wesentlich schneller bereitstellen und Änderungen in Funktion und Design ohne größere Aufwände vornehmen.

„Auf der geschaffenen Basis sind wir in der Lage weitere für uns wichtige Anwendungen umzusetzen und jegliche Herausforderungen, die bei den Digitalisierungsvorhaben von Viessmann aufkommen, durch Simplifier flexibler und nachhaltiger zu meistern.“ 

Dr. Harald Dörnbach, Geschäftsführer, Viessmann IT Service

Entdecken Sie weitere Success Stories

Bitte Branche wählen:  

Fragen zu dieser Success Story?
Bitte schreiben Sie uns.

Sie möchten die ganze Success Story lesen?

Einfach E-Mailadresse eingeben und mehr über die Herausforderungen und Lösungen dieses Kunden erfahren.